Live truth instead of professing it

Is history compulsory NSW?

Is history compulsory NSW?

In a statement following the meeting, acting federal Education Minister Stuart Robert said changes agreed to at Friday’s meeting meant that “Australian history content is now compulsory in both year nine and 10, where it had previously been optional”.

When did the history syllabus change?

The new NSW Stage 6 History Syllabuses were endorsed in 2016. 2017 is a planning year with implementation for Year 11 in 2018 and Year 12 in 2019.

Which states follow the Australian curriculum?

The curriculum authority now has the remit to develop the curriculum and the states the responsibility to implement it. Teachers in Queensland, Tasmania, South Australia, the Northern Territory and the ACT, use the Australian Curriculum as written by the national curriculum authority.

How many units is extension history?

Let’s get one thing clear – History Extension is NOTHING like Modern or Ancient – in fact, treating this subject like one of the two-unit history courses is a recipe for disaster (and is also why I believe that excelling in two-unit history is NOT a prerequisite to study the course!).

What does HSIE stand for?

Human Society and its Environment (HSIE) in Kindergarten to Year 10. Syllabuses for teaching and learning Kindergarten to Year 10 Human Society and its Environment (HSIE) in NSW.

What do year 10 learn in history?

Students will learn to critically assess the usefulness and validity of sources and interpretive viewpoints of past events. They will also learn to consider the Historical significance of people, events and developments.

Is modern history hard HSC?

HSC Modern History, just like any other Humanities subject, is a very content-heavy subject. History subjects are associated with memorising dates, but in Modern History, it’s more than dates; essay structures, source analysis, key terms- these are some of the things you’ll need to focus on skill-wise.

What topics are covered in modern history?

Historical knowledge and understanding

  • The Enlightenment, 1750 – 1789.
  • The American Revolution, 1763 – 1812.
  • The French Revolution, 1774 – 1799.
  • The Industrial Revolutions, 1750 – 1890s.
  • The Age of Imperialism, 1848 – 1914.