Live truth instead of professing it

What are the 2 types of intervertebral joints?

What are the 2 types of intervertebral joints?

Each intervertebral joint is a complex of three separate joints; an intervertebral disc joint (intervertebral symphysis) and two zygapophyseal (facet) joints.

Where are Zygapophyseal joints?

Zygapophyseal joints are the only synovial joints in the spine, with hyaline cartilage overlying subchondral bone, a synovial membrane and a joint capsule; they comprise the postero-lateral articulation between vertebral levels (Figure 1).

What type of synovial joint is the zygapophyseal?

The zygapophyseal joints are true synovial joints that allow for motion of the vertebral spine while limiting excessive motion.

What muscles attach C5?

Muscles of the Spinal Column

Spinalis Capitus Extends & rotates head Middle/lower cervical
Semispinalis Cervicis Extends & rotates vertebral column Middle/lower cervical
Semispinalis Capitus Rotates head & pulls backward C1 – C5
Splenius Cervicis Extends vertebral column Middle/lower cervical

What is the Synchondrosis?

Synchondrosis. A synchondrosis (“joined by cartilage”) is a cartilaginous joint where bones are joined together by hyaline cartilage, or where bone is united to hyaline cartilage. A synchondrosis may be temporary or permanent.

What does zygapophyseal mean?

Also known as the zygapophyseal or apophyseal joint, is a synovial joint between the superior articular process of one vertebra and the inferior articular process of the vertebra directly above it. There are two facet joints in each spinal motion segment.

What is Flavum?

The ligamentum flavum, or the yellow ligament, is a thick, segmental ligament that runs between the lamina of adjacent vertebrae (Fig. 1-11). It begins on the undersurface of the inferior border of the lamina and courses down to the leading superior edge of the lamina (Fig. 1-12).

Are zygapophyseal joints the same as facet joints?

The joints in the spine are commonly called Facet Joints. Other names for these joints are Zygapophyseal or Apophyseal Joints. Each vertebra has two sets of facet joints. One pair faces upward (superior articular facet) and one downward (inferior articular facet).

What nerves are affected by C4 C5 c6 and C7?

C5, as mentioned earlier, along with C3 and C4, contributes to the phrenic nerve that innervates the diaphragm. Roots C5, C6, and C7 produce the long thoracic nerve, responsible for controlling the serratus anterior.

What nerves are affected by C5 c6?

A c5-c6 herniated disc can affect the nerves that control the muscles in the arms, neck, shoulders, hands as well as the head, eyes, ears, or thyroid gland. Symptoms in these areas in addition to pain in the neck is very common with c5-c6 disc herniations.

What is the vertebral column?

The vertebral column houses the spinal canal, a cavity that encloses and protects the spinal cord . There are about 50,000 species of animals that have a vertebral column. The human vertebral column is one of the most-studied examples.

What is the centrum of a vertebra?

the main portion of a vertebra anterior to the vertebral canal, as distinct from the arches. [Usage note: the term “centrum” is frequently erroneously used as a synonym for vertbral body – however the developmental centrum is less than the body, which also inculdes parts of the developmental neural arches.]

What is the body of a vertebra?

Each vertebra is an irregular bone. Every vertebra has a body, which consists of a large anterior middle portion called the centrum (plural centra) and a posterior vertebral arch, also called a neural arch.

Is the corpus vertebrae involved in the cerebrospinal spinal cord?

As in the presented case, corpus vertebrae involvement was noted, and subsequent analysis of her cerebrospinal spinal showed no sign of involvement.