Live truth instead of professing it

What are the 5 major parallels of the Earth?

What are the 5 major parallels of the Earth?

The five major parallels of latitudes from north to south are called: Arctic Circle, Tropic of Cancer, Equator, Tropic of Capricorn, and the Antarctic Circle.

What are parallels and meridians?

These imaginary lines running east-west are commonly known as the parallels of latitude. The vertical lines running north-south, join the two poles. They are called the meridians of longitude. They are spaced farthest apart at the equator and converge at a point at each pole.

What are the two major meridians?

The two major lines of longitude are prime meridian and the international dateline. Was this answer helpful?

What are the 7 parallels of latitude?

Main latitudes The seven important lines of latitude are the equator at 0 degrees, Tropic of Capricorn at 23.5 degrees south, Tropic of Cancer at 23.5 degrees north, Antarctic Circle at 66.5 degrees south, Arctic Circle at 66.5 degrees north, the South Pole at 90 degrees south and the North Pole at 90 degrees north.

What is 66.5 latitude called?

Tropic of Cancer (Latitude 23.5oN) 3. Tropic of Capricorn (Latitude 23.5oS) 4. Arctic Circle (Latitude 66.5oN).

What are the 5 main lines of longitude?

The five major latitude lines are the equator, the Tropics of Cancer and Capricorn, and the Arctic and Antarctic Circles.

  • The Arctic Circle.
  • The Antarctic Circle.
  • The Equator.
  • The Tropic of Cancer.
  • The Tropic of Capricorn.

How many parallels and meridians are there?

Explanation: There are 181 parallels and 360 meridians on the Earth.

Where are the 12 meridian points?

The Twelve Major Meridians are the primary meridians through which qi flows. They are located in each arm and leg, have yin-yang properties, and are connected to a specific Zang-fu organ. There are six yin meridians that are located in the inner region of the arms, legs, chest, and torso.

What are the 5 major circles of latitude?

Major circles of latitude

  • Arctic Circle (66°33′49.0″ N)
  • Tropic of Cancer (23°26′11.0″ N)
  • Equator (0° latitude)
  • Tropic of Capricorn (23°26′11.0″ S)
  • Antarctic Circle (66°33′49.0″ S)

Where is the Prime Meridian?

Greenwich, England
Any line of longitude (a meridian) can serve as the 0 longitude line. However, there is an international agreement that the meridian that runs through Greenwich, England, is considered the official prime meridian.