Live truth instead of professing it

What are the changes to the EYFS 2020?

What are the changes to the EYFS 2020?

The main changes are to the ELGs and the wording, including: Literacy goes from two ELGs – Reading and Writing – to three, now encompassing Comprehension, Word Reading, and Writing. Mathematics loses Shape, Space and Measure, replaced with Mathematical Patterns.

What are the 7 areas of learning of the EYFS 2021?

Here you will find some more detailed information about each of the seven areas of learning and development in the Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage (New EYFS 2021)….The four specific areas are:

  • Literacy.
  • Mathematics.
  • Understanding the World.
  • Expressive Arts and Design.

How does the new EYFS work?

According to the DfE, the aims of the EYFS reforms are to improve outcomes for children; strengthen their language development, particularly for children from disadvantaged backgrounds; and reduce workloads so that practitioners can spend more time with the children, supporting their learning.

When was the EYFS last revised?

These changes were not included as part of the full public consultation launched in October 2019, as they constitute minor updates to clarify common questions on existing policy or to reflect updates in the law since the last revision of the EYFS was published in 2017.

What are the 4 principles of EYFS?

Four principles of EYFS

  • A unique child. Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  • Positive relationships. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Enabling environments.
  • Learning and development.

What is the current framework for early years?

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for promoting the learning, development and safety of children from birth to five years in Ofsted registered settings.