Live truth instead of professing it

What are the five subtypes of schizophrenia?

What are the five subtypes of schizophrenia?

Below you can find the five most common subtypes of schizophrenia.

  1. Paranoid Schizophrenia.
  2. Catatonic Schizophrenia.
  3. Residual Schizophrenia.
  4. Disorganized Schizophrenia.
  5. Undifferentiated Schizophrenia.

What are the 6 types of schizophrenia?

Types of schizophrenia

  • Paranoid schizophrenia. This is the most common type of schizophrenia.
  • Hebephrenic schizophrenia.
  • Catatonic schizophrenia.
  • Undifferentiated schizophrenia.
  • Residual schizophrenia.
  • Simple schizophrenia.
  • Unspecified schizophrenia.

What are the four main subtypes of schizophrenia?

There are actually several different types of schizophrenia depending on the person’s symptoms, but generally, the main types of schizophrenia include paranoid schizophrenia, catatonic schizophrenia, disorganized or hebephrenic schizophrenia, residual schizophrenia, and undifferentiated schizophrenia.

Does the DSM-5 have schizophrenia subtypes?

Current DSM-5 status The DSM-5 also got rid of the subtypes as separate diagnostic categories, based on the presenting symptom. This was found to not be helpful, since many subtypes overlapped with one another and were thought to decrease the diagnostic validity, according to the American Psychiatric Association.

What are subtypes in the DSM-5?

n. in diagnostic classification, a subordinate category of a disorder. In DSM–IV–TR and DSM–5, for example, specific phobias are divided into several subtypes, such as specific phobia, animal type (e.g., fear of snakes); specific phobia, situational type (e.g., fear of flying); and others.

What are the DSM-5 criteria for schizophrenia?

The presence of 2 (or more) of the following, each present for a significant portion of time during a 1-month period (or less if successfully treated), with at least 1 of them being (1), (2), or (3): (1) delusions, (2) hallucinations, (3) disorganized speech, (4) grossly disorganized or catatonic behavior, and (5) …

Why was schizophrenia removed from DSM-5?

With the release of the DSM-5, these subtypes were removed for several reasons : They weren’t very reliable descriptions. People living with schizophrenia didn’t always experience the same symptoms or subtype. There was no difference in brain functioning between the subtypes.

How are subtypes and specifiers used in diagnosis?

Subtypes and Specifiers – Since the same disorder can be manifested in different ways in different individuals the DSM uses subtypes and specifiers to better characterize an individual’s disorder. Subtypes denote “mutually exclusive and jointly exhaustive phenomenological subgroupings within a diagnosis” (APA, 2013).

How is schizophrenia categorized?

Schizophrenia Diagnosis Defined as a psychotic disorder characterized by disturbances in thinking (cognition), emotional responsiveness, and behavior, schizophrenia falls under the DSM chapter for Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorders Class.

What are the 5 domains that comprise the areas of abnormalities assessed when making the diagnosis of schizophrenia spectrum and other psychotic disorders?

They are defined by abnormalities in one or more of the following five domains: delusions, hallucinations, disorganized thinking (speech), grossly disorganized or abnormal motor behavior (including catatonia), and negative symptoms.

What is hebephrenic?

Definition of hebephrenia : a form of schizophrenia characterized especially by incoherence, delusions lacking an underlying theme, and affect that is usually flat, inappropriate, or silly.

What is the most severe subtype of schizophrenia?

Schizophrenia is a chronic, severe mental disorder which is one of the most disabling mental conditions. Schizophrenia affects the person’s perception of reality, thoughts, emotions, actions and their interaction with others. There are five classical subtypes of schizophrenia paranoid, hebephrenic, undifferentiated, residual, and catatonic.

What are the five types of schizophrenia?

Paranoid— Individuals with this schizophrenia type hear things that aren’t there or have delusional thoughts.

  • Disorganized— Individuals with this schizophrenia type show signs of disorganized speech and behavior.
  • Catatonic — Individuals with catatonic schizophrenia can appear to be in a trance or seizure state.
  • What are the categories of schizophrenia?


  • Hebephrenic
  • Undifferentiated
  • Residual
  • Catatonic
  • What are the 5 major symptoms of schizophrenia?

    Changes in school or work performance

  • Social withdrawal
  • Irritability and mood swings
  • Difficulty focusing
  • Difficulty sleeping