What is the purpose of the New Mexico Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act?
The purpose of the Uniform Owner-Resident Relations Act [47-8-1 NMSA 1978] is to simplify, clarify, modernize and revise the law governing the rental of dwelling units and the rights and obligations of owner and resident, and to encourage the owners and the residents to maintain and improve the quality of housing in …
How long does the eviction process take in New Mexico?
Evicting a tenant in New Mexico can take around two to seven weeks depending on the reason for the eviction. If tenants request a continuance or file an appeal, the process can take longer (read more). Introduction: There are several reasons why a tenant may face an eviction lawsuit in New Mexico.
What are my rights as a tenant in New Mexico?
State law regulates several rent-related issues, including late fees, the amount of notice (at least 30 days in New Mexico) landlords must give tenants to raise the rent, and how much time (three days in New Mexico) a tenant has to pay overdue rent or move before a landlord can file for eviction.
How much can a landlord raise rent in New Mexico?
New Mexico does not limit by how much landlords can raise rent, but landlords are required to give notice commensurate to how frequently a tenant pays rent. Rent-related fees. The state limits late fees to 10% of the price of rent for that period. The state also limits returned check fees to $25.
Can landlords evict tenants right now in New Mexico?
The New Mexico Supreme Court entered an Order suspending evictions for non-payment of rent during the pandemic. Tenants continue to owe the rent. The suspension is temporary. Landlords can still file in court to evict you, and the courts will still hold eviction trials.
Is New Mexico a landlord friendly state?
New Mexico is a somewhat landlord-friendly state. New Mexico has no limits for what landlords may charge for rent and may file for eviction sooner than in other states.