Live truth instead of professing it

What is the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage?

What is the statutory framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage?

The Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) sets the standards for promoting the learning, development and safety of children from birth to five years in Ofsted registered settings.

When was the EYFS last updated?

The new early years foundation stage ( EYFS ) framework was published on the 31 March 2021 and should be used by all Ofsted registered early years providers in England from 1 September 2021.

What are the key changes to the EYFS Framework 2021?

Physical Development will be strengthened to include a greater focus on development from birth to reception and on the link between gross and fine motor skills. Literacy will include a stronger emphasis on pre-reception literacy learning, and the link between language comprehension and later reading and writing.

What are the 4 principles of the Early Years Foundation Stage?

Four principles of EYFS

  • A unique child. Every child is a unique child, who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self assured.
  • Positive relationships. Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.
  • Enabling environments.
  • Learning and development.

What is the EYFS 2021?

Changes to the EYFS framework became law in September 2021. Help for early years providers and childminders working with 0 to 4 year olds is available. The EYFS framework: sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well.

Is there a new development matters 2021?

Development Matters is not a long list of everything a child needs to know and do. It guides, but does not replace, your professional judgement. The reforms to the Early Years Foundation Stage are statutory from September 2021. They will help you to improve outcomes for all children, especially disadvantaged children.

Why was the EYFS updated in 2021?

One of the aims of the revised EYFS and Development Matters update was to remove the burden of paperwork that has arisen over recent years, with some practitioners spending more time creating progress records for children than being with the children themselves.

What are the 7 areas of the EYFS?

Areas of learning

  • communication and language.
  • physical development.
  • personal, social and emotional development.
  • literacy.
  • mathematics.
  • understanding the world.
  • expressive arts and design.

What year is Key Stage 3?

Key Stage 3 When children progress to secondary school, they begin with KS3, during Years 7 to 9 when they are 11 to 14 years of age. Key Stage 3 covers the first three years of secondary education.