Live truth instead of professing it

Where are the British Leeward Islands?

Where are the British Leeward Islands?

northeastern Caribbean Sea
The Leeward Islands /ˈliːwərd/ are a group of islands situated where the northeastern Caribbean Sea meets the western Atlantic Ocean. Starting with the Virgin Islands east of Puerto Rico, they extend southeast to Guadeloupe and its dependencies.

Are Leeward Islands British?

The Leeward Islands was established as an English colony in 1671. In 1816, the islands were divided in two regions: Antigua, Barbuda, and Montserrat in one colony, and Saint Christopher, Nevis, Anguilla, and the Virgin Islands in the other.

What islands are included in the Leeward Islands?

The Leeward Islands are composed of the many smaller islands that make up the Lesser Antilles, including Anguilla, Antigua, Barbuda, Guadeloupe, Montserrat, Nevis, Redonda, Saba, St. Barts, Saint Kitts, Saint Martin, Sint Eustatius, the British Virgin Islands and the U.S. Virgin Islands.

What country owns the Windward Islands?

The Windward Islands, in the West Indies, was made up of the British possessions of Grenada, St Vincent and St Lucia. Grenada, the smallest, is the southernmost island and St Lucia, the largest, is the northernmost island.

What is the difference between Windward and Leeward islands?

An island’s windward side faces the prevailing, or trade, winds, whereas the island’s leeward side faces away from the wind, sheltered from prevailing winds by hills and mountains. As trade winds blow across the ocean, they pick up moist air from the water.

Which Caribbean island is British?

Britain is responsible for the defence, security and diplomatic relations of five territories in the Caribbean. These territories are the Cayman Islands, British Virgin Islands, Anguilla, Montserrat and Turks and Caicos Islands.

What Caribbean countries were colonized by the British?

The following former British Caribbean island colonies achieved independence in their own right; Jamaica (1962), Trinidad and Tobago (1962), Barbados (1966), Bahamas (1973), Grenada (1974), Dominica (1978), St. Lucia (1979), St. Vincent (1979), Antigua and Barbuda (1981), St. Kitts and Nevis (1983).

What is the difference between windward and Leeward Islands?