Live truth instead of professing it

What are the three categories of teratogens?

What are the three categories of teratogens?

Teratogens are classified into four types: physical agents, metabolic conditions, infection, and finally, drugs and chemicals.

What is a Class C drug in pregnancy?

Category C: Studies in animals have revealed adverse effects on the fetus and there are no controlled studies in women, or studies in women and animals are not available. Drugs from this class can be given to pregnant women if the benefit to the mother outweighs the risk to the fetus.

What are teratogenic substances?

Teratogens are substances or other factors that can cause congenital abnormalities, which are also called birth defects. Usually these abnormalities arise in the third to eighth weeks of pregnancy, when the major organ systems are forming.

What are teratogenic agents?

A teratogenic agent can be a medicinal product or other chemical agent (i.e., alcohol, nicotine), an infectious agent (i.e., rubella, cytomegalovirus), a medical condition (i.e., diabetes), an environmental toxin or genetic disorder. Teratogens cause about 10% of all birth defects (Box 8.1).

What is a Category B drug in pregnancy?

B. No evidence of risk in studies. Animal studies have revealed no evidence of harm to the fetus, however, there are no adequate and well-controlled studies in pregnant women.

What is FDA pregnancy category B?

Category B Animal reproduction studies have failed to demonstrate a risk to the fetus and there are no adequate and well-controlled studies in pregnant women.

Which substance is not a teratogen?

Examples of non-teratogenic agents: spermicides, acetaminophen, prenatal vitamins, using a microwave to cook food. A non-teratogenic agent is one which does not cause birth defects.

Is folic acid a teratogen?

Abstract. Nutritional deficiencies are preventable etiological and epigenetic factors causing congenital abnormalities, first cause of infant mortality. Folate deficiency has a well-established teratogenic effect, leading to an increasing risk of neural tube defects.

What are teratogenic drugs Example?

Antibiotics tetracycline (Achromycin), and doxycycline (Vibramycin), and streptomycin. Anticoagulant (blood-thinner) warfarin (Coumadin).

How does the FDA classify teratogenic drugs?

– Risk Summary – Clinical Considerations – Data

What are considered teratogens?

– Physical teratogens – Chemical teratogens – Maternal metabolic conditions – Infectious teratogens

What are the 5 drug schedule classifications?

Schedule I – drugs in this class have no known medical purpose or their damaging effects far exceed any possible medicinal benefits; Schedule II – drugs in this class are used for medicinal purposes but still carry a high risk for abuse and dependency; Schedule III – drugs in this class are used for medicinal purposes and carry a moderate risk of abuse and dependency

Which factors are considered teratogens?

Alcohol. Wine,beer,and all other types of alcohol can harm a baby during pregnancy.

  • Smoking Cigarettes.
  • Recreational Drugs.
  • Certain Medications.
  • Some Infections.
  • Harmful Physical Agents.
  • Toxic Chemicals and Substances.
  • Maternal Health Problems.